Chas Jankel Chasanova cover

Chas Jankel had been on my radar for a good number of years. Glad To Know You was a Disco revival classic in the early to mid 2000s, spun in Manchester by the likes of Luke Una and El Diablos Social Club. It was one of those records I heard so often in clubs and bars, I got sick of it. Listening again, it actually sounds rather good with its shimmering synths and pointed vocals. It had been a pop hit in the early 1980s and also a dancefloor hit at the time, but I only heard it during the early 2000s reappraisal of Disco. It was included in the soundtrack to Bill Brewster and Frank Broughton’s Last Night A DJ Saved My Life book in 2000, which both states its historical significance and is probably a key to how it returned to DJ sets. By 2006 a bootleg 12″ appeared that had even more people playing it. I was happy to pick up a copy of Chasanova, as it also introduced me to the delights of other winners by Chas Jankel. Boy is a clear standout that is kind of a weird mix of falsetto pop, lost disco and a yet to emerge R&B Swingbeat sound. 3,000,000 Synths is pretty special in its far out discoid movement, too.
A very much recommended album that is still cheap for now! One question remains…is it Chaz or Chas?

Buy at Discogs / Listen on YouTube